Hooked On Netflix

I finally justified the cost of Netflix!

Well…in my own head anyway! Hang on…beep beep, Skrybal…back up a little. So, the eventual “Plan” is to open an Etsy store and start selling our goods. But, in order to do this, we need to have goods to sell, huh? I’ve been appointed “Head of the Crochet Department”. (Well, ok, so my partner in crime can’t crochet, so I really didn’t have a choice…but she paints THE cutest bees ever)….

Derek

Meet Derek The Bee!

Crocheting enough stock will involve sitting on my butt for hours at a time. Anyone who knows me knows that I can’t sit on my butt for five SECONDS (27 being my record…we counted!) So…what to do?

Binge-watch crappy TV of course! Crocheting goes a lot faster when you’re simultaneously screaming at the TV, “Oh, for crying out loud, the killer’s the one in the yellow hat!” while crocheting, erm…a yellow hat!

Watching the Emmerdale Omnibus yesterday, I produced this…

Bee

LOVING this stitch at the moment. It works up quickly, and I can feel it easily. Being registered blind, I need some sort of reference point when I crochet. I can’t see individual stitches unless I look REAL closely. So obviously, sock yarn and matchstick-sized hooks are out! And bright, migraine-inducing yarn is totally IN! With this stitch, the place I need to put my hook is obvious even to me. It’s a variation of the moss stitch (Fab tutorial here), but with half double stitches instead of single crochet. And the colors are just…me!

I’ll be shortly writing a proper “Hi there!” post…but I never do things in order. For now…happy hooking!

2 thoughts on “Hooked On Netflix

Leave a Reply

